The Korean National Flag

Korean National Flag The Korean National Flag, the symbol of the Republic of Korea South Korea, is named "T'aegukki." The name was derived from the taeguk circle in the center.

The circle is divided equally and in perfect balance. The red upper section represents the yang and the blue lower section stands for the yin. According to traditional Oriental Philosophy, the two symbolize the great cosmic forces, which oppose each other but achieve perfect harmony and balance.

The taeguk circle stands for the eternal principle that everything in the universe is created and develops through the interaction between yin and yang; thus it symbolizes creation and development.

The four trigrams surrounding the circle denote the process of yin and yang going through a spiral of change and growth. The three unbroken lines at the upper left represent heaven (kun), the three broken lines at the lower right represent earth (kon), the two broken lines with an unbroken line in the middle at the upper right represent water (kam), and the two unbroken lines with an broken line in the middle at the lower left represent fire (yi).

The white background of the flag symbolizes the purity of the Korean people and their peace-loving spirit. The flag as a whole is symbolic of the ideal of the Korean people to develop forever together with the universe.

ITA Home Page     IHF Home Page     KMAF Home Page    

Top of Page